Message from the General Chairs

Welcome to the 4th International Conference on Software Testing, Verification, and Validation! Welcome to Berlin!

Software systems continue to present unique engineering challenges to the tester, not least because they can exhibit non-determinism and emergent behaviour. No other engineering artefact is more closely intertwined with the human activity, resulting in complex hybrid systems that involve software, human judgement and, sometimes, political, legal and social processes. It is thus not surprising that ICST 2011, once more, attracted an impressive number of submissions, both from academia and industry, resulting in a program that we are sure can live up to the high standard set by earlier ICSTs.

We are especially pleased to host four exceptional keynote speakers at ICST 2011: Bernd Leukert (SAP, Germany), Wolfram Schulte (Microsoft Research, USA), Ian Sommerville (St. Andrews University, UK), and Walter Tichy (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany). We are equally pleased that Benoît Baudry from IRISA, France managed to assemble a panel on the history and future of software testing research in academia and industry with a top-notch set of panelists: Jürgen Allgayer (Google, Switzerland), Lionel Briand (Simula, Norway), Max Fuchs (BMW, Germany), Mary-Jean Harrold (Georgia Tech, USA), Mauro Pezzé (University of Milano, Italy), Brian Robinson (ABB, USA), and Jan Tretmans (Radboud University, The Netherlands). Let's hope this panel will be as controversial and consequential as it is designed to be.

It was a great pleasure to work with the program chairs, Mark Harman (University College London, UK) and Bogdan Korel (Illinois Institute of Technology, USA), who managed to assemble an outstanding program. We appreciated to work with the industrial chairs, Andreas Ulrich (Siemens, Germany) and Paul Baker (Motorola, UK); the PhD symposium chair, Gordon Fraser (Saarland University, Germany); the poster session chair, Fevzi Belli (Paderborn University, Germany); and the workshop chair, Phil McMinn (University of Sheffield, UK) who, together with various workshop chairs, set up an exciting workshop program.

Without the substantial help of Birgit Benner, Yue Jia, Enrico Lovat, Natalie Nik-Nafs, and Ilona Schubert, this conference would not have been possible. We are equally indebted to the publicity chairs, Victor Braberman, Vahid Garousi, Kulpesh Kapoor, Yves Le Traon, Michael Norrish, Alexander K Petrenko, Lu Zhang, and Robert Eschbach. e would like to thank Paul R Croll, Hazel Kosky, Elizabeth Brookes Little, Andrea Thibault, and Lisa O'Conner, all from IEEE, for their support in setting up the conference. Last but not least, we received continuous guidance and help from the ICST Steering Committee led by Jeff Offutt, and we are aware this conference would not be the same without the generous financial support provided by our sponsors.

We wish you an exciting conference in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Ina Schieferdecker
Fraunhofer FOKUS and TU Berlin
Germany

Alexander Pretschner

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Germany